Interviews with Great Folks #20: Matt Gauck

June 10, 2013 § 1 Comment

Hi! Tell us who you are!

My name is Matt! Gauck! I would first list myself as an illustrator, but I’m really more of “guy who draws and screenprints for a living”. Which is code for “I make money off art, I know right?” I write a zine called “Next Stop Adventure”.

When did you start writing zines?

I wrote my first zine in 2003, after a 4 day bike trip that I was getting bored of writing my friends about. I had retold the same story like 5 times, so I figured I should just start to copy it, instead of retype it, and next thing I know I was stapling it together.

Why did you start writing zines?

I love that if you want to make something, and hand it to someone for them to experience, you can, with like NOBODY to tell you what you can and can’t do. The freedom is amazing. I continue to do it in hopes of inspiring people the way zines inspired me to express myself when I was growing up.

Do you have any influences?

I am visually influenced by the zines that accompanied hardcore punk records from the late 90’s; specifically stuff coming from Florida. Reversal of Man, Combat Wounded Veteran…I also loved everything Ebullition put out. Anything with real heart and honesty to it. That inspires me.

What do you write about?

I ride my bike long distances, and things happen to me. I write about them because they are both funny and interesting. I think.

Recommend a zine(s)

“Brains!” #1-3 are all amazing. And I hate fiction usually! Cometbus is a solid winner, Big Hands remains my overall favorite, most re-readable zine of all time…On Subbing is classic and cracks me up every time I read it. Zines with a sense of humor win me over quick. I remember liking America? a lot, too.

Tell us anything you feel moved to!

If you don’t like my zine, write your own! You can probably do better than me!

check out Matt’s webpage and Etsy.

- tOM

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Interviews with Great Folks #20: Matt Gauck

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Interviews with Great Folks #20: Matt Gauck at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Main Zine Collection.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

