Newly Added Zines 4/5/13

April 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

Here’s a list of the zines we added today. To view our collection in its entirety, visit http://www.librarything.com/catalog/clpzines .

Cindy Crabb
Learning Good Consent

“Curated by Doris editor Cindy Crabb, Learning Good Consent looks at the culture of sexual consent from a standpoint both sexy and educational. Over the course of 46 pages, Cindy and friends create a well-rounded consent workshop, with all sites set on healing and helping. In a world of shady abusers, demonized victims, and one-sided dating rituals, Consent has your back. As says Cindy in the zine’s intro, ‘Talking about our experiences with consent, our struggles, our mistakes and how we’ve learned, these are part of a much larger revolutionary struggle.’”

- http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7663033-learning-good-consent
  
Break the Silence
Consent… is Part of My Operating System!

“…is the companion to the consent workshop zine on safer sex and relationships called: Consent is part of my operating system with some sweet robot graphics, artwork, safe sex pointer-roos, and some practice scripts to help you find the right words in difficult situations. (Scripts were lovingly borrowed from scarleteen.org) Check it out!”

- http://nwbreakthesilence.wordpress.com/zine-project/
     
Bekka, Steph, Eds.
What Do We Do When? Radical Community Response to Sexual Assault #s 2 and 3

“Whadda-whadda started in 2003 as a project my friend Sophy and I started. It was originally supposed to be a resource to go along with a workshop we were running on the same topic. It broadened into lots of workshops & discussions and 3 zines in total.

The zines are cut n’paste style and are a collection of stories, articles, interviews & other writings. There’s lots of reprints in amongst it all. It’s designed solely as a resource for folks thinking about how assault affects communities and thinking about how to respond. For me ‘community’ is a loose term that can describe anything from a group of friends to an art or music or political scene to an ethnic group to the wider community. The idea of this is something I think about a lot & is really important to me, I hope the zine is able to reflect the scope of what the word ‘community’ can represent.”

- http://www.grrrlzines.net/interviews/whatdowedowhen.htm

Molasses
My Feminist Manifesta: A Call-Out to Men

“This is a call-out to all the men in my life and to all the women:

If you’re a man and you’re not ready to radically change, then I don’t want or need you in my life any more. If you’re a woman. any woman, then I’m ready to call you a sister and to support you and fight for you…

So, here it is… a carefully edited and anxiously fretted-over pile of my written emotions. i tried desperately to ride some imaginary line between not blowing away the men who might be ready to listen and not silencing myself. I’m getting more and more fed up at my own silencing and my own gendered fears and reactions and Im trying to turn them around. My hope is that the women in my life are feeling the same and are ready to fight back and that the men in my life are so fucking sick of the world the way it is that they are ready to change.

I don’t want to be silenced anymore. I don’t want to censor myself. I don’t want to tailor my actions because I’m afraid that I might lose friends or attention or affection or interest or support or my status in it all. I don’t want to see my friends raped and murdered, sexually assaulted and sexually harassed, afraid to travel and scared to walk home alone at night. I want to see change. Radical change. I want to see it in my lifetime, however long or short it may be. I hope this zine is a start…” my life and to all the women: If you’re a man and you’re not ready to radically change, then I don’t want or need you in my life any more. If you’re a woman. any woman, then I’m ready to call you a sister and to support you and fight for you.””

- zine intro         

Philly Stands Up
A Stand Up Start-Up

“Our zine! A collection of readings designed for folks thinking about putting together a transformative justice anti-sexual assault group. “

- http://www.phillystandsup.com/resources.html

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Newly Added Zines 4/5/13 at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Main Zine Collection.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

