Interview with Great Folks #13: Sage from Sweet Candy Distro

December 12, 2012 § 1 Comment

Hi! Tell us who you are!

Hello, my name is Sage. I write the zines Tattooed Memoirs, Marked For Life, and Hard Knox. I’m also the gal behind the body-positive compilation zine, FAT-TASTIC! And last but not least, I’ve been running Sweet Candy Distro for the past 8 ½ years.

When did you start writing zines? Why did you start writing zines?

I wrote my first zine in 2004. I’m a late bloomer. I wanted to share my art and writing with other like-minded people and really didn’t know how to do that and then I googled indie publishing. I came across a zine community on livejournal. I saw multiple listings from zine writers with their mailing info. I sent someone in Florida one dollar and a stamp. In return, I received a perzine and I was hooked from that moment on.

2942216

What do you write about?

I write about mental health, parenting, being a heavily tattooed mama, traveling, and other randomness. I’ve written quite a bit about super personal stuff, a lot of family history has been printed in my zines.

Why are zines important to you?

They are awesome therapeutic outlets that give me a voice to vent and toss around thoughts & feelings. I can’t believe I survived my teen years without writing and reading zines. Even before zines, I was always journaling and reading. With zines, I just took my love for the two to a personal level that I share with others. I have connected with some amazing people through zines.

Tell us anything you feel moved to!

I’m addicted to coffee & snail mail – PO Box 13201, Olympia, WA 98508 *hint, hint*

Check out Sage’s distro called Sweet Candy

-tOM

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Interview with Great Folks #13: Sage from Sweet Candy Distro

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Interview with Great Folks #13: Sage from Sweet Candy Distro at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Main Zine Collection.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

