Interviews with Great Folks #11: Elvis Bakaitis

November 30, 2012 § 2 Comments

Hi! Tell us who you are!

Howdy! My name is Elvis, and I write & draw the zine “Homos in Herstory” It’s a comics series about queers & their experiences in different decades of the 20th century – so far I’ve got the 1970’s, 1920’s, 19th century, and am working on the 1950’s.

When did you start writing zines? Why did you start writing zines?

I guess technically my first little comic effort was something called “Scum Guy,” I was 8. I would hawk it to my dad’s tax clients, who clearly couldn’t resist my childlike charms or the comic, which was priced at a very decent 25 cents.

What do you write about?  

Homos! Ahem, more specifically. More specifically I write about queer herstory – to me, that’s your traditional “history” under a feminist lens. I’m curious about what folks were doing who were crossing the lines of acceptability, born into bodies that were assigned female; etc.  

I love diving into a little research cave – I call my mini-office my “zine cave,” and you can find me there shuffled under many colorful pieces of paper, and covered in ink. Basically I just read and take notes and puzzle over questions of the past, memory, queerness, and herstory, until it all makes some kind of sense. Then I try and draw a cute comic about it. It’s just trying to imagine myself and friends into the past, asking questions about how people structure their lives within cultural norms of an era.

Image

How do you think zines are different from other forms of writing e.g. blogs? Why are zines important to you and other people?

Zines! They are not corporate! They are self-published! What’s not to love, I say.

How has the project been for you to do? What have you learned/enjoyed/experienced??

So awesome. I’ve had the wonderful opportunity to go into  high schools  & colleges and give presentations about queers in herstory. I love it!

Tell us anything you feel moved to!

If you’re in the NYC area, and you want someone to talk about queer herstory and/or zines with your high school or college class, let me know! Also, you can check out my zines here (elvis007.wordpress.com/) or here (http://www.etsy.com/shop/CaptainElvis) . Thanks for reading! 

Thanks so much, Elvis!

-Jude

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Interviews with Great Folks #11: Elvis Bakaitis

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Interviews with Great Folks #11: Elvis Bakaitis at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Main Zine Collection.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

